Dear Freddie

I drove you, Mamma and Dada home and then stayed with you all as planned until Christmas eve before I drove home for Christmas.

I wanted you to remember I was here and find me, but Mamma brought you into my room on the 1st morning. Once I was dressed I sat with you and Dada on the sofa. I chatted with you both…but you were playing with Dada’s camera and gave me “the look!” The” “I’m focused on something, don’t disturb me, don’t interrupt what I’m doing” look. Apparently its happened before, but I think its the first time I got it!

We got Dada’s old train set out to play. You learnt very quickly that you could turn the handle, to make the bridge lift up and open. I’m amazed how quickly you learn things. Sometimes though, you decided it was easier to lift the bridge up yourself. You haven’t yet worked out how the train can run on the tracks, but you enjoyed seeing the train go down the bridge with gravity.

While I was staying we also met up with your twin, the boy who was delivered at the same hospital on the same day as you. We met at soft play, my goodness how noisy it was there. You liked climbing up the mini slide. You obviously didn’t read the sign saying this was not allowed! Your twin is walking, and since meeting him, its like he has inspired you to work on your walking.

We also went for lunch at Harvester. Poor Dada’s water turned a funny colour after you played with it. Putting the cucumber slice, from my salad bar trip, in the water, then fishing it out. Later discovering that you can hit a spoon insider the glass to make a noise. It turns out even mealtimes are not out of bounds for your experiments! Mamma was really excited about the salad bar and made sure I and Dada knew where the dressings and toppings were “hidden”. You particularly enjoyed olives and croutons from our bowls. Mamma had ribs and you loved gnawing on a rib. Dada had an ice cream sundae for dessert…they’d decorated the glass of ice cream with an ice cream cone. He put a tiny bit of ice cream in it and gave it to you to have while you were sat on my lap. Somehow I got ice cream dripped on me!

You needed a nappy change while we there there. I wonder when people thought of 2 ladies and a baby going into the disabled toilet together! The changing table was for up to 1 year and about your weight. There were a seat there too for an older age and higher weight, but I’m not sure how you are meant to change a nappy on it. Changing your nappy takes 2 people! You are such a wriggler, that it takes 2 pairs of hands. I’m scared of nappy changes on my own, I’m unsure about how to fold your Terry nappies and use the nappy wraps.

We also went to St Albans just as shops were closing. The Abbey was also closed by the time we got to it. There was lots of pretty lights all over the centre of St Albans though. We also went into a toy shop. I think you were tired though and asleep on someone’s back.

We didn’t get to play on my last day with you, Christmas eve. You had vomited and were feeling a bit delicate. Mamma knew what you needed and made sure it was a slow day.

I rang you over Christmas, you cried loudly but calmed down after I spoke to you a bit. I also video called you, you studied my face seriously before giving me a smile. Dada and I both wondered if you had cried on the telephone call because you missed me. I miss you too boo boo, but tomorrow I drive to yours, collect you and take you to my home for new year. I can’t wait to see you again, and I’ve no idea how I will cope in the new year when you aren’t staying at mine. I love you! You’re my beautiful boy!

from Aunty xx