fog-79456_640

He’s not just any dad…

He’s the dad that created the heavens and the earth, day and night, who designed each kind of living thing, who flung stars into space and has counted every grain of sand ever made.

He’s not just any dad…

He saw me before I was born, he knit me together in my mother’s womb, he knows my past, my present and my future, for he has ordained every day of my life.

He’s not just any dad…

He rejoices over me with singing, he looks down and says, ‘I am good’, he says, ‘this is my child with whom I am well pleased’ and he says all these things before I’ve even got out of bed to do anything.

He’s not just any dad…

He sees me when I go down to the depths; he sees every tear I cry. He also sees me on the mountain top, when I’m dancing and jumping for joy.

He’s not just any dad…

He sees our scratched knees, our long term illnesses and the pain inside that no one else sees. He doesn’t just see, he can heal us completely, inside and out.

He’s not just any dad…

But he knew that we needed dads with skin on. Ones who could sit us on their knee, give us a hug and a kiss, play with us, advise us, and create with us. And so today we thank our amazing perfect heavenly dad for sending each one of us a dad, and we ask him to help them become more and more like him. Amen.

 

(This was my Kids Slot for Father’s day 2012 and so I’m sharing it here to mark Fathers day 2013, unfortunately dear blog reader you can only read the words, and not see the whole performance. Apparently I needn’t have worried about the lack of interaction, the kids were spellbound.)

