Image

 

 

Over Christmas I was struck with how Jesus left the glory of heaven to be born in an filthy, dirty, messy stable, he left perfection, to join us in our mess: poverty, homelessness, illness, broken relationships, greed…

I was grateful that he came to be ‘God with us’ to join us in our distress. Yet it also challenged me, if I am to become Christ-like, then there is a challenge that I too should be willing to join others in their ‘mess’, showing them love and acceptance as Jesus showed me. In my current role I regularly do home visits, what does that mean for me when I visit someone with a filthy house, a smoker, someone recently bereaved, someone with cats, someone with a disability…

It isn’t just Jesus who demonstrates what is looks like for me to join others in their mess. My friend has regularly joined me in my mess and I want to take this opportunity to say a huge thank you to her, she will never know just how much it meant to me. To sit on the floor in the midst of my ‘not so clean’ cluttered bedroom, to visit me when I was off work with a cold, to help me to move house ‘my way’, to allow me to cry my eyes out on the low days, to give me  her time. To say without words, you have value, you have worth, I care about you, you are my friend, you aren’t invisible, you’re not alone. 

I just hope I can meet the challenge too.

