I’ve just been lent a copy of Sod It! – The Depression ‘Virus’ and how to deal with it by Martin Davies. The Author info says he’s a RMN and CPN who also experienced burnout and depression. The book is easy to read and each page is both cartoon and information. It’s ideal for people while in the middle of depression who find it difficult to concentrate and follow more complex books.

He describes depression as a ‘virus’ and describes the best breeding ground being in people who are

  • Physically run down
  • Low self esteem/confidence
  • Experiencing a major life event like bereavment or unemployment
  • Going through several life events and traumas
  • Overworked
  • Stressed out
  • Anxious and uptight all the time
  • In poor supportive environment
  • On their own
  • Not good at expressing their thoughts and feelings openly
  • Full of anger, resentment and unresolved issues.

As I read the list, I reflected on my last few years and think wow…tick, tick, tick, almost every one of these descriptions of a breeding ground for depression I can see in myself…How do you feel as you read this list…can you recognise yourself?

